Queen n Ivy


One Blow
July 26, 2011, 11:05 pm
Filed under: Po-rap, Poetry

I never thought my life would seep to this

Reminiscing, it has me guessing, what the hell’s next?

Have I committed crime, treason, or a felony?

A prisoner I’ve become in my own insanity.

A dream to count stacks is all that’s left of me,

Til the day I collapse I secure my destiny

My words the gold, they fill me with prosperity-

Mentally involved, physically corrupted.

Life shot a pistol at my cranium today

God let’s me know, “don’t be afraid”.

But how can I not be afraid of what’s going on today?

It’s a misconception. It’s all in their heads, he says.

Ridiculously terrified, caution verified

Poisonous snakes attacks the flesh in each and every way

The heart beats faster than adrenaline–

I’ve transformed to the villain of today.

~Ivy~

For those who work hard,

A pot of gold waits on the other side;

Be patient. It’ll all come together.

I nominate C Rose

45 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oooommmgg my luv ur amazing I luved it miss u I really wished I was able 2 see u before u left but u r a beautiful smart women n I’m so proud of u luv u u actually made me tear lol xoxoxo….

Comment by angie

lol awww I love you and miss you too tita!! I’ll facebook you the next time I’ll be in NY for sure!!! I’d do jaylah’s hair again lol xoxo !!!!

Comment by Queen n Ivy

So miss villian, why are you mentaly innvolved but physicaly corrupted?

Comment by Pihon

Mentally I put in work with my words. It’s all I have to make me feel like I can do something with my life..it motivates me. Mentally, I can push forward and be mentally aware of everything, and I can have all the wealth in the world. Truthfully, physically, when you’re straddling between life and death it shows. Physically, life can snatch you to your death, while mentally you’ll live on to another greater world. I will always have riches with my words.
Hope it answers your question lol πŸ™‚

Comment by Queen n Ivy

[…] One Blow:Β https://queennivy.wordpress.com/2011/07/26/one-blow/ […]

Pingback by Thursday Poets Rally Week 49 Fresh Poets 2 Explore Page (July 28-August 3, 2011) | Promising Poets' Poetry Cafe

Nice poem.. πŸ™‚

Comment by Neni

Thank you!! πŸ™‚

Comment by Queen n Ivy

A prisoner I’ve become in my own insanity.
I know what that is like. I’m going through it on and off currently. Nice poem.

Comment by Aaron Smigielski

Thank you! And yea that prison is not cool.

Comment by Queen n Ivy

Welcome to adulthood! (LOL!)

A thoughtful, introspective piece.

Comment by Eric 'Bubba' Alder

I KNOW RIGHT?? HAHA THANK YOU! πŸ™‚

Comment by Queen n Ivy

Our minds take fear and create madness, but whats on the other side of those fears can fuel us farther than ever thought. Honest with some bite, much enjoyed ~ Rose

Comment by C Rose

Well said Rose! Honesty should always be shown through poetry it’s what makes it real. Thank you!

Comment by Queen n Ivy

welcome,

lovely entry, have fun in the rally.
πŸ™‚

Comment by Jingle

Thank you! And I sure will!!! πŸ™‚

Comment by Queen n Ivy

Intriguing… It seems after what is said, a lot is left unsaid. I like that ambiguity.

Cheers
Padmavani

Comment by Padmavani

Cheers! and thank you Padmavani!!

Comment by Queen n Ivy

Enjoyed the post, loved the read (very nice poem). Have a lovely Thusday! Visit me too. Greetings!

Comment by Nelson

Thank you Nelson!! Same to you!! And I most definitely visit you πŸ™‚

Comment by Queen n Ivy

Really intriguing poem.

Comment by thingy

Thank you Thingy!

Comment by Queen n Ivy

WoW! This is some write. Nice ending!
Enjoy the Rally.

I’m here:
On This Orange-Hued Day

Comment by Andy

Thank you Andy!! I will definitely check it out!!

Comment by Queen n Ivy

I love how this reads almost like rap. It’s wonderful and very emotive. Thank you x

Comment by Rebecca Ell

Yea I call it Po-rap πŸ˜€ Thank you!! Without emotions poetry is dead and we all know that!

Comment by Queen n Ivy

Wow this is amazing! Thanks for the read!

Comment by Kate

You’re welcome, and thank you Kate!! πŸ™‚

Comment by Queen n Ivy

Life shot a pistol at my cranium today, God lets me know “don’t be afraid” #realish!!!!

Comment by rlctharod

Thanks for the comment RLC!!! Greatly appreciated!! MUCH LOVE!!!

Comment by Queen n Ivy

Very nicely done. The pace is frantic and pulled me into the scene.

Comment by charlesmashburn

poignant, very emotional. my perfect brand of tea!

Comment by luna15

Thank you for that thought!! πŸ™‚

Comment by Queen n Ivy

Nice write. Belated Happy Birthday!

Comment by booguloo

Great poem! =)

Comment by xx L.A.

An interesting and intriguing poem. It leaves one wondering at what prompted it.

Comment by Donna Swanson

I can relate to this. I feel sometimes I’m more insane than any other, and that I’m absorbed by my insanity too. You penned it well..

My Poem ~ Vicissitude of thought

Comment by Leo

Hmmm… Thought-provoking and smart observation on the world nowadays… Love the last lines!

Comment by magher1

Transformed into a villain… I think we’ve all felt that way before losing our minds.

Comment by Fountains

WOW…I’m amazed by this…it’s brilliant!

Comment by The Oldstrong

Dark and intriguing. Sounds like a a beautiful poem with a rap solo rhythm… and I mean that as a compliment πŸ™‚

Comment by jennifaye

Well, what can I say… I can really relate to your poem. Inner turmoil is definitely a beast–horrifying, petrifying…

Good job! πŸ™‚

Comment by Irene Cortez

I loved this, it had such a strong internal conflict, and your choice of words was really well thought out.

Comment by JaggedWriter

A very cool write, and I can emphasize with the inner dialogue completely

Comment by A.B. Thomas

Til the day I collapse I secure my destiny

My words the gold, they fill me with prosperity-

awesome…..

Comment by swanrose

Really interesting poem

Comment by Bella




Leave a Reply

